March Primary ballots are set

Edgar's picture
March Primary ballots are set
March Primary ballots are set
March Primary ballots are set
March Primary ballots are set
March Primary ballots are set
Sheriff’s race is the only local contested contest


Crockett County Sheriff’s Race Democratic Primary Crockett County Sheriff’s Race Republican Primary

The ballots are set for the March 3 Primary Election.

In Crockett County, the only local contested race is the one for Crockett County Sheriff. The race is also contested in both the Democrat and Republican Primaries.

In the Democratic Primary, incumbent Robert Rodriguez is being challenged by Chip Magee.

In the Republican Primary, Antonio Alejandro, Larry Sanchez and Paul Stroope are running.

The winner of each part primary will face each other in the Nov. 3 General Election.

Other local, non-contested races for the Democratic Primary are:

• County Attorney - Jody Upham, incumbent.

• County Tax Assessor-Collector - Michelle Medley, incumbent.

• County Constable - Raymond P. “Bear” Borrego, incumbent.

• County Commissioner, Precinct 1 - Frank Tambunga, incumbent.

• County Commissioner, Precinct 3 - Wesley Bean, incumbent.

The Primary Election will take place March 3, with polls open from 7 a.m.-7 p.m. Polls in Crockett County are: Precinct 1 - courthouse annex; Precinct 2 - senior center; Precinct 3 - civic center and Precinct 4 - Ozona Chamber of Commerce Visitor Center.

Early voting will be from 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Feb. 18-28 at the courthouse annex.

Last day to register to vote in the Primary Election is Feb.

3. Voters can register at the Crockett County Tax Office.

The Texas Primary Election is an open primary, meaning voters can choose which political party’s primary to cast their ballot.

Whatever primary a person decides to vote in, that person can only vote in that same party’s runoff, if a runoff is held.

In the general election, a person can vote for either party’s candidate.

A voter ID is also needed at the polls.

Here is a list of the acceptable forms of photo ID:

• Texas Driver License issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS)

• Texas Election Identification Certificate issued by DPS

• Texas Personal Identification Card issued by DPS

• Texas Handgun License issued by DPS

• United States Military Identification Card containing the person’s photograph

• United States Citizenship Certificate containing the person’s photograph

• United States Passport (book or card)

With the exception of the U.S. Citizenship Certificate, which does not expire, for voters aged 18-69, the acceptable form of photo identification may be expired no more than four years before being presented for voter qualification at the polling place.

For voters aged 70 or older, the acceptable form of photo identification may be expired for any length of time if the identification is otherwise valid.

Here is a list of the supporting forms of ID that can be presented if the voter does not possess one of the forms of acceptable photo ID and cannot reasonably obtain one:

• copy or original of a government document that shows the voter’s name and an address, including the voter’s voter registration certificate;

• copy of or original current utility bill;

• copy of or original bank statement;

• copy of or original government check;

• copy of or original paycheck; or

• copy of or original of (a) a certified domestic (from a U.S. state or territory) birth certificate or (b) a document confirming birth admissible in a court of law which establishes the voter’s identity (which may include a foreign birth document).

After presenting one of the forms of supporting ID listed above, the voter must execute a Reasonable Impediment Declaration.

For more information, visit

Rate this article: 
No votes yet