Governor issues disaster declaration for storm-stricken counties

Edgar's picture
Governor issues disaster declaration for storm-stricken counties


AUSTIN — After severe weather struck north and east Texas on Oct. 20, Gov. Greg Abbott issued a disaster declaration naming a list of counties in that region.

Among the counties named are: Cass, Collin, Dallas, Ellis, Erath, Hunt, Kaufman, Lamar, Panola, Rains, Rockwall, Rusk, Tarrant, Van Zandt and Wood.

“By issuing this declaration, Texas is providing local officials with the resources they need to quickly respond and recover from this storm,” Abbott said. In addition to providing access to state resources, the declaration waived certain regulations to make it easier for utility companies to bring in out-of-state resources to assist in restoring power.

The storm brought high winds, heavy rains and at least four tornadoes. Tornadic action ravaged a swath 40 miles long through the Dallas area, causing widespread destruction in residential areas and businesses, forcing many closures and resulting in the loss of electrical power to tens of thousands of customers.

Damages attributed to the storm, currently estimated at more than $2 billion, continue to be updated.



To read more please log in or subscribe to the digital edition




Rate this article: 
No votes yet