Governor declares disaster in Imelda-affected counties

Edgar's picture
Article Image Alt Text


AUSTIN — Gov. Greg Abbott on Sept. 19 declared a state of disaster in counties impacted by Tropical Storm Imelda, which first hit the upper Texas Gulf Coast on Sept. 15.

Counties listed in the declaration include Brazoria, Chambers, Galveston, Hardin, Harris, Jasper, Jefferson, Liberty, Matagorda, Montgomery, Newton, Orange and San Jacinto.

The declaration ensures that local officials have access to any state resources they may require to respond.

The state worked with local officials and emergency personnel in the named counties on problems caused by Imelda’s heavy rains, high winds and catastrophic flooding.



To read more please log in or subscribe to the digital edition

Rate this article: 
No votes yet